T20 World Cup 2024: Record-Breaking Prize Fund for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that the winner of the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will receive the highest prize amount in the tournament’s history. Following India’s thrilling victory against South Africa in the final, the details of the prize distribution highlight the significant financial rewards for participating teams.

India’s Triumph and Prize Money

In a closely contested final, India emerged victorious against South Africa by a narrow margin of 7 runs. This win earned the Rohit Sharma-led Indian team a cash prize of $2.45 million, approximately ₹20.42 crore. The ICC emphasized that this amount is the minimum guaranteed for the winning team.

Total Prize Fund for the Tournament

The ICC allocated a record-breaking total prize fund of $11.25 million (nearly ₹94 crore) for the Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice highlighted the historic nature of the event, stating, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”

Breakdown of Prize Money Distribution

  • Runners-Up (South Africa): South Africa received $1.28 million, approximately ₹10.6 crore.
  • Losing Semi-Finalists: England and Afghanistan, the losing semi-finalists, each took home $787,500, around ₹6.56 crore.
  • Teams Not Advancing Past the Second Round: Each team that did not advance past the second round was awarded $382,500, or ₹3.19 crore.
  • Teams Finishing 9th to 12th: Teams finishing in these positions received $247,500, or ₹2.06 crore, each.
  • Teams Ranking 13th to 20th: These teams each earned $225,000, approximately ₹1.87 crore.
  • Match Wins: Every team earned an additional $31,154, or ₹2.59 crore, for each match won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.

Tournament Structure

The 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup began with 40 matches in the first round, advancing to the Super 8s, followed by the semi-finals held in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final match took place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where India was crowned the champions.

This year’s tournament not only showcased thrilling cricket but also set new financial benchmarks, reflecting the growing popularity and commercial success of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup 2024: Record-Breaking Prize Fund for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Leave a Comment